1. Having trouble logging in to the new RPLS Community website?

    Welcome to the new RPLS Community website. SurveyorConnect may be gone but the community is still here and going strong!

    Due to the new website URL, you may have to login to your account again. It's the same login as you had before, but your browser likely won't recognize it, even if you set it to remember you. If you can't get logged in, you can reset your password. Be sure to check your spam or junk folder if you don't receive the confirmation message right away. If you still have trouble, send us an email at support@rplstoday.com.

    [ CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD ]

    Dismiss Notice

New GPS time...lots of questions

Discussion in 'GNSS & Geodesy' started by tomchurch, Mar 20, 2017.

  1. tomchurch

    tomchurch 2-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    16
    Licensed in:
    NY
    OK...lots of questions but here it goes....I'm about to buy a new GPS unit to add to our Leica GS15. Got a quote on a new GS15 for around $16k for the unit, Glonass, and the license to work with my Carlson collectors. We love our old GS15...its a serious workhorse and gets great results under/near canopy and in tough spots. We have a tendency to use it in hard spots and the terrain in my area of NY can be rough with poor views.

    I'm also looking at the Carlson BRx6 since we have moved away from Leica to Carlson in all other equipment besides GPS right now. How do the two units stack up against each other especially in rough places? I know the GS15 has more channels but how does this affect performance?

    Then comes the question of software. We don't currently do a lot of multi-unit adjusted GPS work and mostly rely on processing each position individually and holding it as site control. We process the static data from our GS15/CS20 in Infinity (which works but we dislike) to get our GPS control for total station work. We process our total station work in SurvNET. This works for what we are doing now but that is changing, I also want to speed the field collection up with two units. I understand that you can adjust GPS data in SurvNET and Star*NET once you have the processed baselines. I can get and export the baseline data from Infinity as XML (I think). How would I process the baseline data from the BRx6 or SurvCE? Is the price of extra software going to make it cheaper/easier to just get another GS15 and continue processing the baselines in Infinity for export? Is there a software package that can process baseline data from any GPS hardware?

    And before anyone pipes in about getting a Javad, we're not really interested. There is little support in my region for them and two other surveyors whom I have a lot of respect for have recommended against them due to software related issues (why we are moving away Leica in the first place).

    Thanks!
     
  2. Shelby H. Griggs PLS

    Shelby H. Griggs PLS 7-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    242
    Location:
    Prineville, OR
    Most will that can import a RINEX file, but of course you need to get the native reciever data into a RINEX format somehow, TEQC might be an option for that.

    The GravNet package from Waypoint Consulting/NovAtel will process data from many/most receivers if you wanted to look at a 3rd party processing package.

    SHG
     
    Jered McGrath PLS likes this.
  3. Peter Kozub

    Peter Kozub 7-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Have you looked a novatel web site they make the Main board for the GS14 GS16 etc so
    if they can make the hardware ground up there post process software must be A1
    I am 99.9% RTK construction and would like a very basic post process / planning soft
    and

    http://www.novatel.com/products/software/grafnav-static-and-grafnet/#overview

    I would stick with Leica the zoom 80 that carlson sells is a ts12 robot
    If i did a lot of adjustments i would guess i use one of novatel softs and do the rest of the adjustment in C3D 2016 with
    the brute of a learn curve.

    I just picked up 3 GS 14s and i would bet 100% that the GS 15 has the same GPS board
    the GS 14 weighs 950 grams 2 lbs a lot less than the GS15. 555 channels
    maybe the board is not the same anyways when the trees show up its two man robot


    So far soo goood.

    Does not really answer your question but why dilute your equipment with various brands.
    stay with Leica/novatel for hardware/software and carlson for DC.
    and put up with the adjustment programs in your cad soft possibly




    Setch Equipment List

    Data Collector


    3 Carlson Surveyor Plus
    Carlson SurvCE Ver 5.02


    Robot


    Leica TS12
    Type TS12 P 2" R400
    S.N. 269895
    Art No. 791307
    Equipment No. 4944492
    Blue tooth radio handle RH16

    GPS

    Leica GS 14 2016 Ver
    Base 28 SN 3487028
    Rover XX
    Rover XX
    1 Satel 3Asd as repeaters scanner 1 watt etc


    Computer


    Xi Computer S/N: 037019
    Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHZ
    Mem 24.0 GB
    Win 7 64.0 Bit
    12 Gig Video Card Nvidia K6000
    2 4k Monitors



    Autodesk C3D 2016 subscription Service pack 3 2017 on the shelf




    HP T120 Roll feed 24" plotter.
     
  4. Duane Frymire

    Duane Frymire 7-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    394
    My advice would be to check out all solutions for yourself. I'd be happy to demonstrate the Javad for you (I'm in NY), but certainly wouldn't try to convince you to not go with something else. They're all pretty good these days. But seems like you're going in circles with getting one thing to work with another. If you want to contact me I can show you the other way to do it. Good luck either way.
     
    mattsib79 likes this.
  5. Paul in PA

    Paul in PA 7-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,305
    Likes Received:
    521
    Since you have little experience post processing it may be more important to have the right post processing software. Proper software can handle observations from any manufacturers equipment. I have Ashtech legacy equipment and software. I worked regularly with a surveyor who had Leica receivers. Once he was out of his primary realm in RK, there were numerous times I imported his static work into my software and returned to him the solution he could not get. Besides your equipment do not overlook the individual skill and experience you must acquire in using your equipment and software.

    Starting from scratch today, my choices would be different.

    Paul in PA
     
  6. detritalgeo

    detritalgeo 3-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Regarding the Brx reciever, as it is a Hemisphere board, the rinex converter is available on the Hemisphere GNSS Web site, software tab.
     

Share This Page