1. Having trouble logging in to the new RPLS Community website?

    Welcome to the new RPLS Community website. SurveyorConnect may be gone but the community is still here and going strong!

    Due to the new website URL, you may have to login to your account again. It's the same login as you had before, but your browser likely won't recognize it, even if you set it to remember you. If you can't get logged in, you can reset your password. Be sure to check your spam or junk folder if you don't receive the confirmation message right away. If you still have trouble, send us an email at support@rplstoday.com.

    [ CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD ]

    Dismiss Notice

Hiper-V vs GR-5

Discussion in 'GNSS & Geodesy' started by Mark Mayer, Jan 11, 2017.

  1. Mark Mayer

    Mark Mayer 7-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,755
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Licensed in:
    OK, OR, WA
    If any of you guys can fill me in on the differences between these 2 models. beyond the superficial, I'd appreciate it.
     
  2. thebionicman

    thebionicman 3-Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,166
    Likes Received:
    1,048
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Licensed in:
    ID, NV, OR, UT, WA
    I've used the Hyper V and the GR3. Not exactly apples apples, but the GR3 is hands down the better unit. More reliable inits, especially in marginal environments.
     
  3. Mark Mayer

    Mark Mayer 7-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,755
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Licensed in:
    OK, OR, WA
    I read your post from last month re your experience with the V. I gather that both the V and the GR-5 are current Topcon products, with a significant price difference. Salesman has given a quote on the V with a price comparable to a pair of new R-8s.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2017
  4. leegreen

    leegreen 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    350
    Location:
    Remsen, NY
    Both models use the latest fence antenna, and same D-UHF II radios. I have seen no difference in radio reception, when using adapter on Hiper V to place UHF antenna in vertical position. GR-5 has two hot swap batteries, last 8-10 hours. Hiper V has a single battery only 4 -5 hours. GR-5 is heavier. GR-5 currently only model to support three constellations via an OAF.
     
  5. Mark Mayer

    Mark Mayer 7-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,755
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Licensed in:
    OK, OR, WA
    I'm not familiar with the acronym "OAF".

    Is the Hiper-v GPS/GLONASS only, then?
     
  6. leegreen

    leegreen 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    350
    Location:
    Remsen, NY
    Yes GPS and Glonass currently.

    The GR5 can upgrade with OAF - Options Authorization File for $1000
     
  7. Mark Mayer

    Mark Mayer 7-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,755
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Licensed in:
    OK, OR, WA
    Ah.... so "OAF" means "mo' money".
     
    Ron Lang, arctan(x) and rberry5886 like this.
  8. Rusty Blackwell

    Rusty Blackwell Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    Licensed in:
    AL, MS, TN
    We just bought 8 GR-5 units to replace our aging Hiper Lite + units we have had for 10 years+. We demoed the Hiper V and the R8. We purchased them because we keep the units for a long time and they had the flexibility to add new satellites for a small fee once they become available. One of the differences I saw was that I was able to get radio signal further (up to 1.5-2 miles more) from the base with the GR5 than the Hiper V and R8 with out a booster radio. In my opinion it was because the antenna is on the top of the units vs antennas facing down. If we were going to purchase new units every 5 yrs or less then I would have gone with the more cost effective units like the Hiper V or R6. Just my 2 cents.
     
  9. thebionicman

    thebionicman 3-Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,166
    Likes Received:
    1,048
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Licensed in:
    ID, NV, OR, UT, WA
    If you have an r8 base, try using the antenna from the external radio instead of the rubber whip. The range increase will blow you away..
     
  10. Lee D

    Lee D 3-Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    615
    Location:
    Houma, LA
    It should be noted that both the R10 and R8s are 440 channel receivers with full GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, and Compass tracking capability. The "S" in R8s stands for Scalable; just as with Topcon, if you want all of that you have to pay for it. But it can be added at any time by a similar software key.
     
  11. toivo1037

    toivo1037 6-Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    MI
    Licensed in:
    MI
    We are a topcon user company, I have an old Hiper. I looked at the V, and the GR5. GR5 is rather heavy, something I didn't like. The V was better on the arm for sure. But as others have stated, it is only GPS, GLONASS. I figure that we will/should be using more then those 2 systems full time by the end of 2017. So for me, the GR5 became the only option between the two - except since I knew I wanted to use Carlson for a DC, I could also look at the JAVAD stuff. I ultimately went with a JAVAD T1M base/rover as they have the same (and more) capabilities as the GR5, slightly less weight if I can recall, and I could still use Carlson DC. And because I am a small shop, the fairly significant price break was a bonus.
     
  12. Jim Frame

    Jim Frame 7-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,032
    Likes Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    Licensed in:
    CA
    Topcon user companies were actually Javad user companies for quite a few years.
     
  13. toivo1037

    toivo1037 6-Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    MI
    Licensed in:
    MI
    Very true. I actually have an old green Javad Odyssey that has a topcon sticker over the Javad name. And the first Hipers (which I have) were just yellow Javad Maxtors. I think the very first Topcon GPS had trimble boards, and now Topcon = Sokkia. So in all actuality, there isn't a ton of true topcon produced GPS.

    Manufacturer consolation means there are a few colors out there, but really the guts will boil down to just a couple different board manufacturers, they will just be wrapped different.
     
  14. Webbed feet

    Webbed feet 2-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    39
    Licensed in:
    AR
    I've been a Topcon believer for years, total stations & GPS. I bought the GR-3's when they first became available and was very impressed. That being said, I have recently purchased a Javad system and there is no comparison. I highly recommend giving Javad a look.
     
  15. Nate The Surveyor

    Nate The Surveyor 7-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,449
    Likes Received:
    2,548
    Location:
    SW Arkansas
    Licensed in:
    AR
    Whell, Mr Webbed Feet, if it's not a JAVAD, stay out of them woods! :)
     

Share This Page