Community Forums

Traverse Adjustment  

Page 3 / 3 Prev
  RSS

KevinFoshee
(@kevinfoshee)
100+ posts Member
December 7, 2018 7:17 am  

"It also looks from the pictures that a 360 prism on a pole may have been used for the traverse. From reading other posts here it seems that traversing with a Trimble using Autolock and a 360 is a bad idea."

Just for the record, I have about 5 years experience with a Trimble S6 and 360 prism. Our traverses always closed good. 1:20,000 to 1:40,000 were common. I don't think that was his issue. On short sights, though, sighting the center of a prism pole can be an issue. We kept our level bubbles well adjusted.

Precisely sighting the center of the prism pole on short sights can be difficult.

ReplyQuote
KevinFoshee
(@kevinfoshee)
100+ posts Member
December 7, 2018 7:21 am  

And just for the sake of covering all the bases:

You did convert your GPS control points from Grid coordinates to Ground coordinates. Right?

ReplyQuote
aliquot
(@aliquot)
500+ posts Member
December 7, 2018 7:37 am  

Ahhh, now that I understand exactly what you did, two feet doesn't sound out of the ordinary. I would suggest not using bipods or a 360 prisim under such adverse conditions. You say under normal conditions your closure is as low as 1:20,000. That may be accurate enough for what you need, but that's really low for modern equipment. When you put more stress on your procedures by the conditions in the cave that's going to go down significantly.

Traversing with tripods seems to be out of fashion, but it will greatly increase your precision.  When I traverse with my 1990's conventional gun my absolute bottom is 1:60,000, but if I switch to bipods I am down near what you are getting. I have traversed in similar environments as your cave. It took two tries, and painstaking effort, but we were able to get 1:30000. The problem was the inordinate amount of time it took. It sounds like it may not be worth it for what you are doing.

ReplyQuote
KevinFoshee