Community Forums

Share:

SURVEY INFORMATION - Rookie Question  

Page 1 / 4

jzamora1073
(@jzamora1073)
5+ posts

Hello All,

I am new to surveying, I am actually working on a site connection design for a house in new york city. 

Since I am a mechanical engineer I have no real experience with site surveys, can someone please give me some advice on the following:

1. What is RIM elevation and CL on a site survey? (File Attached)

2. How can I find the invert elevation of a sewer line from a site survey at any point in the survey (The land survey marked some INV elevations on two manholes).

Any advice would really be appreciated by this forum, Thanks a lot.

Topic Tags
40 Replies
VA LS 2867
(@va-ls-2867)
250+ posts

CL is the centerline of pavement elevation

The invert is calculated by finding the difference between the upstream and downstream invert elevations divided by the distance between the inverts to determine the slope. Then multiply the slope by the distance from MH to the point you want to determine and you will have a delta elevation to add or subtract from the starting manhole depending on if you are going upstream or downstream.

Norman Oklahoma
(@norman-oklahoma)
2,500+ posts

To restate what Jason wrote - "CL" indicates the elevation of the roadway surface at the centerline of the road. 

Note that pipes run straight and at constant grade between manholes. At least in theory. Very rarely do they curve. Any changes in grade or changes in direction occur at the manholes. And 300' is about the maximum distance allowed between manholes. "INV" is short for "invert", which is the elevation of the flowline (inside bottom) of the pipe. The slope of the pipe is the rise/run (elevation change/length of pipe), and you can calculate the elevation of any particular point along the pipe between manholes by applying the slope to the distance from the nearest manhole.