Community Forums

Share:

Site Unseen  

Page 1 / 2

Firestix
(@firestix)
50+ posts

Have you ever bid a boundary recovery using only the available information .... Like,  metes and bounds deed, recorded survey map, GIS data, and aerial photography?  If so, how'd that work out for ya?

TIA

Topic Tags
13 Replies
Loyal
(@loyal)
2,500+ posts

Every time someone asks me to "BID" a boundary survey, I tell them "one million dollars!"

So far so good, they haven't called back yet!

Loyal 

1 Reply
Charles L. Dowdell
(@charles-l-dowdell)

500+ posts

@loyal

i used to give them my Hourly Fee Schedule and tell them "I don't bid"!

holy cow
(@holy-cow)
10,000+ posts

Our estimates are based on experience in a specific neighborhood, so many times we have even less than what you listed.  But, I would never shoot from the hip in a location where I have zero previous knowledge. NEVER.

1 Reply
CSHarmon
(@csharmon)

20+ posts

@holy-cow

I get a lot of first time callers that don't want to wait for me to look in the files or county records, "just give me a ball park" with a time frame. I usually give them "I'd say $1,000 to $1,000,000. Never done one for under $1,000 and haven't billed out a $1,000,000 for one survey....yet. Need a time frame on that?" Either they laugh and give me the time to do it right or they hang up. I understand needing to know generally what you're paying but the first time I talk to you is the first I'm hearing about your job. Don't expect me to know anything about the project yet. I never take a job without giving an estimate. The guys who call all rev'ed up and just want you to get started as soon as possible, don't care what the cost is are always the ones who cried when they saw the invoice.

David Baalman
(@david-baalman)
50+ posts