Community Forums

Share:

Question on Union Surveying  

Page 1 / 4

Newbie in NY
(@newbie-in-ny)
FNG

Hello, this is my first post here, though I came across this site a while ago and have been browsing from time to time. It seems like a good source of information and experience, so I was wondering if I could get some input from anyone who either works, or has worked, or can shed any light on the world of surveying in a union. I've been working as an IP and a CAD tech for a couple of years for an engineering firm. We do a little of everything - boundary, topo, stakeout, etc. Recently we were on a prevailing wage job in NYC, and a union rep for the operating engineers happened to be passing by (or was purposely out looking for us) and stopped to talk to us. He was basically trying to sell us on either joining the union or trying to unionize our company. The latter isn't happening, I wouldn't even try. But it got me thinking. The prevailing wage rates around here range from much higher to almost triple what I make on a regular basis, depending on the nature of the work and the region. so I was wondering if anyone here could give me some input based on their own experience. Is it hard to even get in if you're already in the surveying field? Does it require an apprenticeship if you're coming in with experience already, or if you're an instrument person, do you enter at IP rates right off the bat? And how is the workload? Are you constantly busy working full time, or are things kind of scarce, or somewhere in between? I do like what I do right now, and I don't know how seriously I'm even thinking about it, but it's something that's been rolling around in my head so I was wondering what others have to say.

20 Replies
A Harris
(@a-harris)
5,000+ posts

Howdy, you have found a place full of answers.
I don't know much about union surveying or unions.