Upgrade and save 50%

Community Forums

Precision GPS on a budget  

RSS

mattmers
(@mattmers)
FNG Member
September 9, 2018 10:01 pm  

I am a undergraduate at a university in Kansas that is currently working on a degree in Earth Science with minors in Paleontology and GIS. I have been doing Paleo field work in Montana for the past 4 years and we have generally used outdated handheld gps units. Unfortunately the university I go to had their surveying GPS unit broke a few years ago and they have not replaced it. I was wanting to get this communities input on cheap high precision units or DIY units. I was wanting something with cm precision since I would be working on mapping fossil beds. 

I have seen a few articles on DIY high precision gps units but I'm not sure if they have improved since then and if they would be ideal to my scenarios. I would ultimately either spend my money or work it into a undergrad research proposal. Also to cut cost I'd probably want something that can either connect to a pc or smartphone.

https://spectrum.ieee.org/tech-talk/transportation/self-driving/cheap-centimeterprecision-gps-for-cars-and-drones

https://www.instructables.com/id/Sub-Centimeter-GPS-With-RTKLIB/

https://gizmodo.com/5405804/make-your-own-real-time-kinematic-gps-receiver-thats-accurate-to-one-centimeter

Any feedback or thoughts would be appreciated. 

ReplyQuote
zammo
(@zammo)
50+ posts Member
September 10, 2018 3:06 am  

Hey mate,

How accurate exactly do you require? I'd assume you need survey grade accuracy for paleo work, and I don't think you could guarantee this with a home made unit. If it is only for academic use try contacting a local survey equipment dealer and they may have some decent secondhand units available. Some manufacturers may also have supply agreements with educational institutions, at least that used to be the case here in Oz.

Maybe a browse on ebay may also find some gold for you.

ReplyQuote
StLSurveyor
(@stlsurveyor)
1,000+ posts Member