Community Forums

Share:

Whats the use of CTB  

Page 1 / 6

therock003
(@therock003)
100+ posts

I'm a land surveyor and i whenever i send drawings to civil engineers they ask me for CTB files. I dont use ctb, since my drawings are black and white and i plot them on printing facilities. Whats the meaning of ctb files and why would someone use them

30 Replies
1 Reply
DAVID DRAHN
(@david-drahn)

5+ posts

If you're using autodesk products, you're using either ctb or stb files to control plotting (or 'none' but that would probably give you unacceptably strange output if you take advantage of layers and/or colors to draft).  You can see what you're using in the upper right of the plot or page setup dialog box.  ctb's are part of autodesks original plot control methods and so many people and agencies still use it as their standard (as opposed to the enlightened stb users).  Probably the only thing it controls other than the plotted lineweight (of the particular color) is its "grayness".  Any color may be given a "plot black with a screening value", which is used effectively in most professional plan sets.  If you use the OOB monochrome.ctb, every color is plotted the same lineweight and black with the screened or grayish colors reserved for the last colors 250-255.  This can work fine and if this is how you cad you can just tell the civil you're using (unmodified) monochrome to plot.

You can also do an ETRANSMIT when preparing dwg file for clients and it will include the ctb and other support files in the package.

Capture

StLSurveyor
(@stlsurveyor)
1,000+ posts

I believe it contains all the pen weights etc. If you don't have the associated .ctb file the plot will not look like it should. 

therock003
(@therock003)
100+ posts

This is what i dont understand. Since i dont own a specific plottter, or have any color information to do the mixmatching, and each line has each corresponding information, why use pens in the first place?