Community Forums

Whats the use of CTB  

Page 1 / 3 Next
  RSS

therock003
(@therock003)
100+ posts Member
February 11, 2019 1:50 am  

I'm a land surveyor and i whenever i send drawings to civil engineers they ask me for CTB files. I dont use ctb, since my drawings are black and white and i plot them on printing facilities. Whats the meaning of ctb files and why would someone use them

ReplyQuote
StLSurveyor
(@stlsurveyor)
1,000+ posts Member
February 11, 2019 3:11 am  

I believe it contains all the pen weights etc. If you don't have the associated .ctb file the plot will not look like it should. 

Professional Surveyor - MO, AR, KS, KY
sUAS Certified Pilot

ReplyQuote
therock003
(@therock003)
100+ posts Member
February 11, 2019 3:16 am  

This is what i dont understand. Since i dont own a specific plottter, or have any color information to do the mixmatching, and each line has each corresponding information, why use pens in the first place?

Lets say i have weighted polylines, and inside the properties dialog they have their corresponing width. What more will a pen weight do, to help a fellow engineer

ReplyQuote
BlitzkriegBob
(@blitzkriegbob)
100+ posts Member
February 11, 2019 5:02 am  

Interesting. First, let me clarify that CTB files are not specifically for plotter information. That is handled in PC3 files. CTB files were the original way to deal with pen weights in AutoCAD. Now, I've never done a drawing in the manner you describe, nor have I ever received a drawing in that manner, so this will just be an educated guess.

You're right. The way I envision it, they shouldn't need a CTB file from you. A polyline with a width will plot the same regardless of its pen weight. If you use true type fonts, they also will plot the same regardless of its pen weight. If you don't use true type fonts, then they won't.