Community Forums

Share:

Is Autodesk Civil 3D a chimera?  

Page 1 / 2

Bow Tie Surveyor
(@bow-tie-surveyor)
500+ posts

I am a County Surveyor that works within a county public works department with various engineers and engineer techs. Over the past year and a half I have been working on providing Civil3D deliverables it what I believe to be the way that I think Autodesk intends. All the points have symbology defined by my survey template (that I ripped off from the Florida Department of Transportation), most all of my survey location linework consists of full 3D Civil 3D Survey Figures defined by my points as inserted into the Civil3D Survey Database. My surfaces are created from the Civil 3D points in the drawing and the Civil 3D Survey Figures contained within the Civil 3D Survey Database. I'm sure I could do some things better, but I think I'm providing a proper deliverable.

So anyway, I have been asking the engineering techs who work with my drawings if they are able to use all of these smart dynamic 3D entities that I am creating to their advantage. The answer that I'm getting back often time is no. They use the surface alright, but having a surface entity for surfaces really isn't all that new to Civil 3D. We had them in Land Desktop and Carlson. The don't seem to really interact with my points all that much and actually they complain about the symbols dynamically scaling up and down when they change the scale on their drawings. They would rather them stay just they way they show on the survey. I had a similar issue when I would use annotative text in my drawings. They didn't like my text scaling up and down when they would change scales. So I had to stop using it. It does not appear that they interact with the 3D Survey Figures at all. And sometimes they complain about them because they are difficult for them to use at all. They end up having to trace either  2D or 3D polylines over them to work with them.