Community Forums

Share:

TBPLS no more  

Page 2 / 9

flyin solo
(@flyin-solo)
1,000+ posts

again Shawn, i'm in total agreement.  only thing that might vary due to our different circumstances: as somebody who's spent more than my share of time inside the hallways, offices, and payrolls of engineering/development firms in austin is that i can't count the number of times i've heard "it's just shooting a few points, how come we can't get it tomorrow/after lunch/for free/just tell me where you keep the gear and i'll go do it myself."

that attitude- which is very real and very pervasive among the "i had to take a surveying class at UT/A&M/Tech when i got my engineering degree" crowd- coupled with the fact that, as licensed surveyors, those of us who theoretically will be at it for a couple more decades stand to see a fairly substantial uptick in the demand for our services.  the resultant fee schedules are going to be pretty enticing for those guys who got a few required credit hours back in their younger days...

Norman Oklahoma
(@norman-oklahoma)
2,500+ posts

Posted by: Shawn Billings 

Personally I don't see too many engineers wanting to do what we do. As Norman points out, many States already have combined PE/RPLS boards. It is a far better outcome than being put under the general board of licensure. 

None of the 3 states I am licensed in allows engineers to survey boundaries on the basis of their Engineering licenses.  In Oregon they once could, but it was sunsetted beginning in the mid '70s, and so far as I know nobody has proposed bringing it back. Engineers can test for a survey license, and often do. Enough fail that testing to make a great case for why Engineers should not just be awarded a survey license. 

thebionicman
(@thebionicman)
2,500+ posts

The general mood in government these days is less regulation and less spending to regulate. I will keep my opinions on that to myself. It's just a statement about the way it is.