Community Forums

Share:
Notifications

Property boundary dispute with lawyers involved  

Page 1 / 3

Wildwheel
(@wildwheel)
FNG

It seems that when lawyers are involved with a boundary dispute the lawyers advise denying access to neighboring property.

For example, say the client and neighbor dispute their property boundary. Client and neighbor then hire lawyers and aren't allowed to communicate directly. Then client requests a survey. We show up to survey and are confronted by neighbor. Initially the neighbor is cordial, understanding of our process and has no issues with our presence. However, after talking to their lawyer are advised to deny us access to their (neighboring) property.

I am a green surveyor with ~1.5yr of experience, but this situation has happened multiple times.  From my understanding of the surveying profession, we aren't advocates for anyone (client or neighbor) and the goal is to establish the boundary as accurately as possible. Why lawyers act to delay the surveying process seems obvious, they want to drag out the process long as possible and get more money.

It irks me that lawyers attempt to obfuscate the establishment of property boundary. Why don't surveyors get called first, before lawyers, to mediate this type of boundary issue?

22 Replies
holy cow
(@holy-cow)
10,000+ posts

You must be in one of THOSE states where surveyors do not have a right of entry law working for them.  That is sad.

2 Replies
Steven Metelski
(@steven-metelsky)

100+ posts

@holy-cow

Right of entry exists for when no one is home or no one answers door. Once a homeowners tells you to get off their property, you have no legal recourse. At least in my state

holy cow
(@holy-cow)

10,000+ posts

@steven-metelsky

From our statutes.  Note that the surveyor may be delayed a bit but not prevented from completing what must be done.  This is critical in PLSSia.